

MINUTES

NOMINATING COMMITTEE FOR THE COMMISSION ON APPELLATE COURT APPOINTMENTS

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 29, 2020 3:00 P.M. STATE CAPITOL EXECUTIVE TOWER 2ND FLOOR CONFERENCE ROOM 1700 W. WASHINGTON STREET PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007

Members Present: Kurt Davis

Members Via Conference Call: Bill Beard, Rebecca Hudson, Anne Jack, Heather Johnson

Members Absent: Maria Delgado, James Warne

Staff: Anni Foster, Nicole Colyer, Emily Rajakovich, Trista Guzman Glover, Tom Callahan

- 1. Call to Order: Emily Rajakovich called the Nominating Committee for the Commission on Appellate Court Appointments ("Nominating Committee") meeting to order at 3:01pm and took attendance.
- **2. Approval of minutes:** Minutes from April 3, 2019 were reviewed and Bill Beard motioned to approve the minutes. Kurt Davis seconded the motion. The minutes were adopted.
- 3. Review of statutory requirements: Anni Foster introduced herself and reviewed the statutory requirements of the Commission appointments as stated in the Arizona Constitution, Article VI, Section 36(A). Ms. Foster noted that Laura Ciscomani and Jonathan Paton are eligible for reappointment. Kurt Davis asked for clarification on sending all qualified applicants to the Governor for review. Ms. Foster confirmed, but noted the applicants seeking reappointment.
- **4. Discussion of applicants:** The Nominating Committee considered each applicant's qualifications for the Commission. Kurt Davis mentioned that all candidates on the list are qualified for consideration. Bill Beard recommended the 2 reappointments. Ms. Foster reminded the members that all qualified candidates shall be sent to the Governor for review.

- **5.** Call to the public: No comments.
- **6. Selection of applicants for recommendation to the Governor:** Discussion regarding recommendations to be sent to the Governor.

Mr. Davis made the motion to send the following names to the Governor:

Andrew D. Antone

Lynette S. Burdick

Laura Ciscomani

Riley J. Connor

Ruth Ellen Elinski

Edward T. Francis

Mignonne D. Hollis

Carmen L. Hreniuc

Goldie Juan

Michael J. Langley

Eric Limbs

Nicholet A. Deschine Parkhurst

Jonathan Paton

Channel Powe

Anthony D. Sizer

James S. Zieler

Anne Jack seconded the motion. The motion passed.

7. Adjournment: Mr. Davis motioned for adjournment. Heather Johnson seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 3:11pm.