

## **MINUTES**

## NOMINATING COMMITTEE FOR THE COMMISSION ON APPELLATE COURT APPOINTMENTS

WEDNESDAY, MAY 27, 2020
10:00 A.M.
STATE CAPITOL EXECUTIVE TOWER
2ND FLOOR CONFERENCE ROOM
1700 W. WASHINGTON STREET
TELECONFERENCE
PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007

Members Via Conference Call: Bill Beard, Kurt Davis, Maria Delgado, Rebecca Hudson-Nunez, Anne Jack, Judith Lyon, Lorna Romero, James Warne

Members Absent: Heather Johnson

Staff: Anni Foster, Nicole Colyer, Trista Guzman Glover, Tom Callahan, and Gabriella Lepore

- 1. Call to Order: Trista Guzman Glover called the Nominating Committee for the Commission on Appellate Court Appointments ("Nominating Committee") meeting to order at 10:07 a.m. and took attendance.
- 2. Approval of minutes and ratification of prior Committee action: Minutes from January 29, 2020 were reviewed and Bill Beard motioned to approve the minutes. Lorna Romero seconded the motion. The minutes were adopted unanimously. Anni Foster introduced herself and noted that after the January meeting, there were allegations that the Nominating Committee's action was not legal because there were vacancies on the Committee. She also noted that since the January Meeting, the Governor has appointed two new members and all nine spots are now filled. As such, it was suggested that in an abundance of caution the Nominating Committee ratify the recommendations that were made at the January meeting. Kurt Davis motioned to ratify prior Nominating Committee action from the January 29, 2020 meeting. Anne Jack seconded the motion. The ratification of prior Nominating Committee action was adopted unanimously.
- 3. Review of statutory requirements: Ms. Foster reviewed the statutory requirements of the Commission appointments as stated in the Arizona Constitution, Article VI, Section 36(A). Ms. Foster explained that included in the list of applicants is every applicant since the last application period closed. Rebecca Hudson-Nunez asked a question about terms for the

Nominating Committee. Ms. Foster explained the terms for the Nominating Committee are at the pleasure of the Governor.

- 4. Discussion of applicants: No discussion.
- 5. Call to the public: No comments.
- **6. Selection of applicants for recommendation to the Governor:** Mr. Davis made the motion to recommend the following names to the Governor:

Jaime S. Chamberlain

Kathy S. Deasy

Julie J. Engel

Earl J. Guy

Deborah Ann Harris

Benjamin W. Johnson

Janet K. Regner

Jay A. Shechter

Molly L. Smith

Kevin M. Taylor

Robert E. Tyler

Homero H. Vela

Lina H. Wallen

Derrick B. Watchman

Kristine E. Wolfe

Ms. Romero seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

**7. Adjournment:** Mr. Beard motioned for adjournment. James Warne seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 10:17 a.m.