

## **MINUTES**

## NOMINATING COMMITTEE FOR THE COMMISSION ON APPELLATE COURT APPOINTMENTS

THURSDAY, MARCH 17, 2022
3:00 P.M.
STATE CAPITOL EXECUTIVE TOWER
2ND FLOOR CONFERENCE ROOM
1700 W. WASHINGTON STREET
TELECONFERENCE
PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007

Members Via Conference Call: Bill Beard, Anne Jack, Judith Lyon, Lorna Romero and James Warne

Members Absent: Kurt Davis, Maria Delgado, Rebecca Hudson-Nunez and Heather Johnson

Staff: Jake Agron, Alyssa Foster, and Flora Hayden

- 1. Call to Order: Alyssa Foster called the Nominating Committee for the Commission on Appellate Court Appointments ("Nominating Committee") meeting to order at 3:09 p.m. and took attendance.
- **2. Approval of minutes and ratification of prior Committee action:** Minutes from May 27, 2020 were reviewed and Judith Lyon motioned to approve the minutes. Bill Beard seconded the motion. The minutes were adopted unanimously.
- **3. Review of statutory requirements:** Mr. Agron introduced himself and reviewed the statutory requirements of the Commission appointments as stated in the Arizona Constitution, Article VI, Section 36(A).
- 4. Discussion of applicants: No discussion.
- **5.** Call to the public: No comments.
- **6. Selection of applicants for recommendation to the Governor:** Ms. Jack made the motion to recommend the following names to the Governor:

Gladys Anaya

Gilbert Davidson Robert Wilson Kathryn D. Townsend

Mr. Warne seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

**7. Adjournment:** Mr. Beard motioned for adjournment. Ms. Romero seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m.

